Downtown Springfield Shop Hop

Shop the Best Downtown Springfield has to offer. In this guided shop hop, participants will hop from shop to shop, meeting the owners, getting behind the scenes looks, and meeting the artists behind the works in our amazing art co-op shops.

This completely complementary tour, will give you chance to visit shops with a new perspective! Grab your friends, your family, your kids and make it a Saturday on the town or a mother-daughter day and enjoy Historic Downtown Shops!

Featured Artist Reception

Image may contain: textJoin US on Wednesday, April 25th from 5-7pm
Featured Artist Reception for Penny Zimmerman-Wills

Penny creates whimsical arrangements with succulents and air plants. See event discussion for pictures of her work.

– Learn tips about growing, caring for and arranging these beautiful plants
– Enter to WIN a live arrangement
– Enjoy refreshments & snacks

Illinois Bicentennial Essay + Art Contest



For further detail of each topic please click above.

Bicentennial essay and art contests are open to students who attend a school in Sangamon County. Individual contest descriptions may limit the age and/or grade of eligibility based on selected topic or sponsor request. Immediate family members of board members of the Illinois Bicentennial Coordinating Committee of Springfield (IBCC of Springfield) or of the sponsoring organizations for individual contests are not eligible to participate. Void where prohibited by law.


The winner of the Contest will be determined by judging all the entrants’ submissions based on the criteria established by contest sponsors. All entries to an individual contest will be judged using the criteria listed on the contest description. Judges will be selected by the IBCC of Springfield, but will not include members of the Board of Directors. The decision of the judges is final and binding on all matters relating to this contest.

There will be first, second and third place winners for each contest. Prizes will be different for each individual contest – review the contest description for complete information. All taxes, if any, are the responsibility of the winners or their guardians. The IBCC of Springfield will not be responsible for any loss, liability or damage arising out of any winner’s acceptance or use of the prize. All prizes are guaranteed to be awarded.

Selection of Winners: Winners will be selected within 30 days of the contest deadline date and notified by email. Return of prize or prize notification as undeliverable will result in disqualification and an alternate winner may be selected. Entry and/or acceptance of prize(s) constitutes permission for the IBCC of Springfield to use the winner’s contest entry, name and/or likeness for advertising and trade purposes without further compensation or authorization, worldwide and in perpetuity, in any and all forms of media, now known and hereafter devised, unless prohibited by law.

The IBCC of Springfield is not responsible for lost, late, misdirected or illegible entries, lost connections, miscommunications, failed computer or telephone transmissions, other technical difficulties or failures. The IBCC of Springfield is not responsible for any damage to user’s computer system from downloading/uploading any information necessary to participate in the contest or other technical difficulties or errors of any kind. Limit one entry per person. All entries become the property of the IBCC of Springfield and will not be returned.

The IBCC of Springfield reserves the right to terminate or modify this contest at any time for any reason. In this event, winners will be selected based on entries received to date of termination.
If you wish to receive a list of prize winners or have any questions about the Contest, specify your request and write to: IBCC of Springfield, P.O. Box 9108, Springfield, IL 62791-9108.


The Pharmacy Gallery & Art Space presents • interconnectivity • The Pharmacy’s Twenty First Group Art Exhibition on Friday, September 8th and Saturday, September 9th, from 6:00 to 9:00 p.m. Original art being raffled. Original music created by Timothy Donavan Russell. Snacks and drinks provided. Donations encouraged.

Exhibiting Artists Include:

Wendy Allen
Shannon Bohlen
Joan Burmeister
Delinda Chapman
Eric Craddock
Bill Crook
Kristin Diehl
Jim Edgecomb
James Elliott
M. L. Finch
Edward Haber
Patricia Myers
Felicia Olin
Timothy Donavan Russell
Diane Schleyhahn
Janet Sgro
Jamie McCormick
Mary Ellen Strack
Andrew Tinge
Bernie White-Hatcher
Jeff Curtis Williams

No Such Template. Please Select Valid Template and Try Again.